Falling Forward: Pumpkin Blueberry Steel Cut Oats

IMG_1396I love Fall – the sights, the smells, the cool, crisp weather, and all the produce ready for harvest. Seriously, the best! The only downside is that it seems shortened, gipped even. Maybe it is due to Daylight Savings Time where it gets dark at 3p.m. (I’m exaggerating a bit but you get me) or the reality that Christmastime is looming. I am a purist and think that Christmas decorations shouldn’t make an appearance until the day AFTER Thanksgiving, that’s after Thanksgiving, not Halloween. Anyway, Fall feels a little less leisurely and a lot more like your falling forward…into a black hole filled with Christmas lights, gift lists, parties to attend, endless airings of Elf & A Christmas Story etc. etc. As my husband says, “Halloween ends and we skip right over Thanksgiving and head straight into buying things”.

Don’t get me wrong I love Christmas and I am waiting expectantly for the chance to usher in that moment with complete joy and attention. However, before I can enter into a season of Christmas bliss remembering the birth of my Risen Savior (who, by the way, most scholars will say wasn’t born on December 25) I need to spend some much needed time cultivating a heart of gratitude.  So with that in mind, I’d like us to continue to savor the Autumn season and come together with thankful hearts before we rush through the impending chaos that is Christmas.

These Pumpkin Blueberry Steel Cut Oats are a favorite because it’s a time-saver, you make it up the night before and pop it in the oven in the morning, and it is good for family time on the weekends. So let’s get to it.
Ingredients
1 & 1/2 C. Pumpkin Puree (I make my own)
1 C. Steel Cut Oats
1/3 C. Ground Flax Seed
       1   Egg White
1/4 C. Honey (or more if you like it sweeter)
1/4 C. Pecans, chopped
1 tsp   Pumpkin Pie Spice
2 tsp   Cinnamon
1 tsp   Baking Soda
2 C     Almond Milk
1 C.    Blueberries ( I added mine right before baking because they were frozen but if you have fresh add them in before!)
1. Grease a 9×13 pan (If you forget to do this first, no biggie- I always forget!)
2. In a bowl, combine pumpkin puree, ground flax seed, egg white, and honey.
3. Then add pecans, oats, spices, baking soda, almond milk and blueberries (see note above) and stir to mix.
4. Pour mixture into prepared 9×13 pan, cover, and place in refrigerator overnight.
5. In the morning, preheat oven to 375 and bake for 55-60 minutes.
IMG_1397         IMG_1399

Get together with your friends or family this weekend over a batch of these oats. Talk about life, struggles, blessings – everything and let’s be grateful for them all.

What recipes do you enjoy this time of year?
Leave a Reply

